Canon 6D Review

The Canon 6D is the worlds smallest, lightest full-frame SLR on the market today. As a travel and landscape photographer, I was quite intrigued by the ultralight factor and immediately bought one of the first to ship.

THE 1+ YEAR HANDS-ON 6D REVIEW JUST GOT BETTER!

This review is now much more comprehensive with new images and experiences, all in a beautiful PDF. I uploaded 6GB+ of downloadable TIFFs and low-compression 1080p video and more for you to download as well. Get the downloadable PDF and images here. (both free)

 

Canon 6D Review Version 1 – March 03 2013

Canon EOS 6D Overview

Ready? Let’s get started! First, here is an overview of the key features:

Lightest Full-frame body on the market

Integrated GPS

3.0″ High-Resolution LCD

DIGIC 5+ Image Processor

Full HD 1080p video

ISO 50-102,400

Integrated WiFi

This review is not based on marketing figures or datasheets. Instead this review will focus on real-world usage and results from the perspective of a working landscape photographer. I have no preference for Canon over Nikon, I own both and consider them equal. Price can be of major concern for many when considering camera bodies, however this factor did not influence my impressions or decisions and is therefore absent from this review.

Image Quality

The CMOS sensor found in the Canon 6D is nearly identical to the one found in the Canon 5D Mark III – quality is the same. Pixel-level detail of this CMOS full-frame sensor is capable of producing incredibly detailed images with beautiful color. I have printed large format prints from the 6D, up to 40×60, and the level of detail and color rendition is excellent. Just as important as image quality is, however, is pre-visualization and getting the right information on the sensor. Image quality is only as good as visual quality! : )

Canon 6D Review

Canon EOS 6D CMOS Sensor

The 6D has Canon’s most powerful image processor, the DIGIC 5+. The Canon 6D’s DIGIC 5+ processor is 17x faster than a DIGIC 4 and 30% faster than a DIGIC 5. The image processor of a camera is responsible for reducing noise at higher ISOs, and the DIGIC 5+ represents the best to date. The introduction of DIGIC 5+ also means that JPEG processing (finally!) includes chromatic aberration correction, based on lens profiles which are stored in-camera and therefore limited to Canon’s own lenses. In addition, the extra processing power allows the 6D to apply chromatic aberration correction to JPEG images. This correction is based on Canon-created lens profiles, up to 29 of which are be downloaded and saved onto the camera in the form of firmware updates. These profiles allow correction not only of lateral CA but also of the harder-to-fix axial CA.

Hardware & Design

Holding the Canon 6D for the first time the smaller form factor and lightness are both very noticeable when compared to a body in the 5D-series. It has a great balance to it and the ergonomics are excellent. The top-case construction material of the Canon 6D is a glass fiber reinforced polycarbonate, which was selected to permit WiFi and GPS signals. Without a built-in flash it has a very durable and rugged construction without any play or flex. The internal frame is of course metal, and the 6D’s front and rear body covers are Magnesium Alloy. Build quality here is high, and I get the sense that the polycarbonate top-case is very impact and pressure resistant. The depth of field preview button is now accessible with your shooting hand and the streamlined redesign of the button layout has nearly all controls justified to the right, also accessible from the shooting hand. All other controls and settings are where you would expect them to be. The shutter is hypersensitive, even more so than the Canon EOS 5D Mark II. There’s no lag in the shutter and the threshold from autofocus half-depression to full click is just right.

Canon 6D Review

Canon EOS 6D with Zeiss Planar 50mm 1.4

The Canon EOS 6D has a very nice sounding normal shutter click, and in normal mode it’s slightly quieter than the 5D Mark III. The 6D also features the Silent drive mode, which is tech that came downstream from the Canon EOS 5D Mark III. This is significantly quieter than the standard “normal” shutter sound. I consider this feature to be a huge step forward for wedding photographers, documentary photographers, travel photographers, wildlife photographers or any other type of photography where shooting unnoticed is best. On a chicken bus in Guatemala for example, one shot out of the window with a normal shutter might draw attention from passengers, whereas with Silent mode it’s likely to go unheard. For Henry Cartier-Bresson, the anonymity that the small, quiet camera gave him in a crowd or during an intimate moment was essential in overcoming the formal and unnatural behavior of those who were aware of being photographed.

Canon 6D Review

Canon 6D at Grand Canyon National Park Sunset ISO 50 with Canon 17-40mm F4 L

Canon says that the EOS 6D is “completely sealed from external contaminants”. I had a surprise experience with gallons of seawater coming down on top of me when shooting a Golden Gate Bridge sunrise. I thought the camera and lens were probably done for, however after drying it off completely all was perfectly operational. It would appear that the weatherproofing is fairly strong. On closer inspection of the doors and hinges, one may notice small sponge-like sealing which not only keeps the elements out, but prevents any play as a result of plastic-on-plastic doors or otherwise moving parts. Click here to sign up for my awesome newsletter where I send a bi-weekly email with new photography, articles and reviews! Also, check out my other article on How to Pre-Visualize like Ansel Adams, and make sure to subscribe to my newsletter!

Integrated GPS

The Canon 6D is the first Canon SLR to have integrated GPS. For everyday shooters, wedding or sports photographers, the value of GPS may be minimal, however the value for travel and landscape photographers is sure to be huge. In addition to having accurate location-based data for every shot, the integrated GPS in the 6D also automatically sets the timezone. Remember when you had to adjust timezones manually on import? Those days are over! An option in the Canon menu system also allows for the logging of location data even when not shooting. This can be useful when wanting to log a trip, a hike or a vehicle route. Non-Canon 6D photographers can purchase the GP-E2 GPS Receiver ($242.95) to achieve the same result, however with the added bulk on the top of the camera. Another interesting development with GPS data is the inherent SEO value attached to GPS coordinates in the EXIF data. It’s been predicted by some SEO professionals that Google will place emphasis on GPS data in the near future as a way to confirm authenticity. Sounds like fun!

Canon EOS 6D Integrated GPS coordinates on Map Canon 6D Review

Canon EOS 6D Integrated GPS coordinates on Map

One of the only downsides to the integrated GPS is that even with the camera turned off, I have noticed it depleting the battery. Creating a ‘Favorite’ menu with GPS on the top makes it easy to turn it off when putting the camera away, but it’s certainly annoying. I have updated the firmware of the Canon EOS 6D and this problem still exists.

 

Autofocus – the Best and Worst feature of the EOS 6D

Probably the biggest feature difference between the Canon EOS 6D and the 5D or 1D-family bodies is autofocus. The Canon 6D’s 11-point AF system also offers the strongest low light performance of any DSLR on the market. With focusing down to EV-3, the equivalent of moonlight, subjects remain in-focus in even the most challenging lighting conditions – offering the freedom to shoot landscapes or portraits at night and capture the true atmosphere of the scene with minimal noise. Compare this to the -2 on the 5D Mark III, and the -0.5 on the 5D Mark II. This is a clear win for me as I often use ND filters (up to 10-stops of light) to push exposure times and occasionally rely on autofocus bracketing to obtain critical sharpness. It accurately and predictably locks on subjects  even if the viewfinder is black. Amazing! Click here to sign up for my newsletter if you haven’t already.

Canon EOS 6D Autofocus Point Grid

Canon EOS 6D Autofocus Point Grid

One of the main friction points of the 5D Mark II was it’s “older” 9-point AF system. The 5D Mark III has a 63-point AF system, and the 6D has an 11-point AF system with a center cross-type of f/5.6 with additional sensitivity when an f/2.8 or wider max aperture lens is selected. For sports, action or wedding photographers who rely on autofocus, the 11-point may not cut it. For landscape photography I prefer the simpler AF system of the Canon EOS 6D.

Canon 6D Grand Teton National Park Sunrise with B+W Circular Polarizer 77mm Canon 6D Review

Canon 6D Grand Teton National Park Sunrise with B+W Circular Polarizer 77mm

 

Canon EOS 6D vs. Canon EOS 5D Mark III

Many people reading this article are likely looking for a comparison between the Canon EOS 6D and the Canon EOS 5D Mark III in addition to a review of the Canon EOS 6D. I won’t be providing a comprehensive technical review of the two, as that’s been done elsewhere, however let’s start with a real-world feature comparison in order of importance for travel and landscape photographers, with GREEN having an advantage and RED having a disadvantage.

Image Quality

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

Canon EOS 6D

Size & Weight

Canon EOS 6D

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

Durability & Weathersealing

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

Canon EOS 6D

Lowlight Autofocus Sensitivity

Canon EOS 6D

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

Integrated GPS

Canon EOS 6D

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

LCD Quality

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

Canon EOS 6D

Battery Life

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

Canon EOS 6D

Integrated WiFi

Canon EOS 6D

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

Autofocus Points

Canon EOS 5D Mark III

Canon EOS 6D

 Click here to subscribe to my newsletter

Is the Canon EOS 6D Worth It?

When the Canon EOS 6D was released this past year in December 2012, there was an immense amount of chatter as to wether or not it was a worthy contender in the lineup of full-frame bodies. You hear words like budget and economy and other things like this. My impression is that this is all noise that comes from millions of dollars of marketing, and if you’re looking for practical rather than theoretical advantages, the Canon EOS 6D is one of the best cameras on the market, regardless of brand.

Ultralight construction, incredible low-light AF and GPS are features that presently you can’t find in another camera. For professional landscape and travel photographers who are looking to retain extremely high image quality in the smallest form factor available, I’d highly recommend this camera.

 

Click here to download Canon 6D Instruction Manuals

>>> Click here to download the Canon 6D Review Version 3 interactive eBook, updated on January 16th 2014 < < <

Buy the 6D, give 6% to World Wildlife Fund

Canon 6D Review

Did you find this review useful? If so, consider buying the Canon 6D (or anything else) from any of the stores below. 100% of the commission goes straight to the World Wildlife Fund. This percentage comes out of the store’s cut, not yours – items won’t cost you a penny more.

Follow me on Facebook  |    Follow me on Google +  |   Follow me on LinkedIn  |   Follow me on Twitter

Frequently Asked Questions

What about the Canon 6D 100,000 shutter lifecycle rating?

My Canon 6D has over 200,000 shutter cycles on it and it’s perfectly fine! Why so many you may ask? Battery tests. I’ll have the results up soon hopefully.

What are the Canon 6D’s biggest problems?

Canon user experience team is either on vacation or they were fired, and as a result WiFi was poorly implemented rendering it utterly useless in it’s present state. The GPS also stays on even if the camera is turned OFF, meaning battery drain and lots of dead batteries. Again, Canon user experience team is asleep here…

Does the WiFi on the 6D work?

The EOS app is a free iOS download that allows you to use the camera as a remote. Unfortunately it does not have any intervalometer settings and therefore I didn’t spend much time with it – it’s just point and shoot. So practically speaking, it’s essentially useless.

What about the lack of CF cards on the 6D?

Yes, this sucks! However, with a SanDisk Extreme 128GB SD card the Canon EOS 6D can save approximately 6,553 RAW images, or 5,242 RAW + hi-res JPEG. Although not an answer to those who own lots of CF cards (I do!), it certainly doesn’t affect how much you can store. Read more about my review of the SanDisk Extreme 128GB here.

What is the autofocus sensitivity on the 6D?

Autofocus sensitivity in the Canon 6D goes lower than the 5D Mark III, down to -3 EV, whereas the 5D Mark III performs at -2 EV, and the Mark II and the original 6D is at -0.5. For reference, the new Nikon Df has a autofocus sensitivity of -1 EV.

  Connect with me on Google+ at Graham Clark

147 Comments on “Canon 6D Review

  1. Very good review, to the point and simple. I am oscillating between 5D Mark III and 6D. I have tried both 5D Mark III and 6D. When I tried 6D (after 5D Mk III), suddenly I felt that the weight of the camera almost disappeared which indeed is a great achievement. I could never imagine, just a loss of 200 gms can make such a huge difference. On the flipside, on 6D I felt the the loss of flexibility (such as joy stick, more auto focus points) that comes with 5D Mark III. I am not a professional photographer but like the control and flexibility. Biggest selling point fro 6D is its weight and I am leaning towards it.

    I have also tried Nikon D600. It gave great pictures but soon came the oil spots. Even though for portraits, it was not a cause of concerns, neverthless having read about the issues, travails od trying to clean the sensor did not make sense at all. So I moved away from D600 (still I have a great respect for the quality of photos came from D600).

      • Graham,
        I had D600 and returned it after few hundred shots and few oil spots. Then I am sitting on wall trying to decide between 5D Mark III and 6D. I use the camera for travel, landscape, and people. Of course I shoot the sports that my kids are in. I liked 5D for its greater flexibility but did not like the weight at all. 6D is great to carry. Even though I had limited experience with 5D, I immediately felt that 6D is restrictive in terms of auto focus and the joy stick. So I have to yet to make a commitment on one of them. Your review tipping my balance towards 6D and some money in my pocket.

  2. I asked a Q re 6D on the Canon Rumours forum re quality of pix straight out of camera. The opinions were mixed. Finally, due to unavailability of velvia and of E6 processing in our part of Thailand, I have decided to go digital, choosing the 6D based on reviews that confirm it can produce satisfactory, well saturated ‘nature’ right out of camera. BUT, it got confusing,. Another review stated that the pix needed further ‘adjustments’ on various parameters. I was hoping that as digital has matured(?) now being 2013, why does one need to fiddle with corrections on a computor, when one had expected that onboard processors would be able to sort out these corrections.. Why cannot a 2k or more digital body make a finished/adjusted pix?? Any opinion, experience, tips??

    • Hello Tommy!

      When I compare out of camera images between the Canon EOS 6D and the Canon EOS-3 on Ektar 100, they look very similar. I would say that if you’re shooting on hi-res JPEG with profiles enabled you can get out of camera shots that have a striking resemblance to film.

      Graham

    • I would second what Graham said. Also keep in mind that you could take any 10 photographers and get 10 different opinions on what colors, saturation, etc, are best. I don’t have the 6D yet, but it is at the top of my short list. From all the images I’ve seen, I think that both the JPEG and RAW are quite good at their default, striking a reasonable balance. However you can adjust or fine tune all of the settings to your taste for JPEGs and if you prefer RAW and use something like Aperture or Lightroom, you can create a custom effect or preset that will allow you to make a 1 click modification to get the image close right away. Just remember that it is what “you like”, not what other photographer’s like that matters.

  3. Many thanks for this review. I’ve been debating whether to trade in my 600D and 10-22mm to get the 6D and take advantage of the current rebates or if I should hold on until I can afford the 5D mkIII. I mostly shoot landscapes, largely using ND filters, so was leaning towards the 6D plus the money saved could eventually be put towards a 17-40mm (or some other lens) to compliment the 24-105mm I already own. However gear envy and the fear of making the wrong, expensive, decision has had me sitting on the fence. Your review has really helped calm some of those fears and I think the 6D looks the right way forward for me. Many thanks.

  4. Pingback: Hands-on Review: Canon EOS 6D

  5. Great review! I have use a 7D to photograph music artists performing on stage and would like to move up to a full-frame camera.
    My concern is if the 6D would work, focus fast and get the sharpness with movements. For the light sensitivety it sound like it would be great! If I had the money, I would buy 5D mark iii. In this case i rather spend money on a nice 100mm macro, my other passion. So for that, both light and weight is very nice with the 6D. However, would 11 focuspoints be enough to get the movements from the artists on stage!? That’s my hesitate right now. Many thanks for some input, it would be helpful! :)

  6. Graham, thanks so much for this review. Travel, landscape, nature and some documentary are my primary interests. After a lot of comparisons I felt this would be the best camera, and your review helped confirm that. Now it is just a matter of coming up with the money to buy it.

  7. Bought a 6D, heavily influenced by your review and test images. Took it to the Caribbean with a 24-105mm and a 40mm pancake, and very impressed with handling and IQ. Prefer it to the 5D lll if I have to carry it for very long!

    • Thanks Neil! I’m glad that you like it. I like them both equally but as you mentioned, I prefer the 6D for trips like the one you did.

      Graham

  8. Graham,

    Thanks for the review. It seems well balanced an free of hype.

    I have a canon 500d and thinking of moving to a full frame. I was wondering if the lack of in built flash would be an impediment, particularly for travel? Does the increased low lite handling make it largely irrelevant?

    I would think that fussing about with a speed lite would be annoying when so much else is happenning.

    Thanks in advance.

    Mike

    • I had similar concerns, but I bought a Speedlite 270eXll which slips into my pocket and is vastly superior to a built in flash. The other point to bear in mind is that the low light capabilities of the 6D mean that flash is required less often.

  9. HI Graham,
    Read your review, I Use Canon 1000D with 18-55, 55-250 EF-S lenses and 50mm EF lens. Photography is my hobby and I was planning to buy 6D to move to a full frame but the below points I have read in reviews really pushing me to move to Nikon systems since i have to purchase new lenses (except 50 mm) to use with 6D or nikon D600.

    Lack of Flash in 6D (May be all other canon full frame cameras do not have flash)
    Flash Synchronization speed of 6D is 1/180 s only(Is less than my base model APS-C Canon 1000D-1/200 s)
    Number of focus points only 11 with 1 cross type (1000D have 7 points with 1 cross type)

    I am using my cam for all sort of general photography like shooting birds, landscapes, portraits, kids etc etc please advise which camera would be better for me? Canon 6D or Nikon D600 or any other model

  10. I have been considering this 6D as a replacement for my Pentax K5. The K5 has incredible dynamic range but the politics with Ricoh, no clarity on a full frame future has left me completely disillusioned with Pentax. I shoot mostly rural scenes, abandoned buildings,people, and street photography. I want to have the smaller/lighter build of this and also want to use manual focus lenses like Voigtlander & Zeiss. How is the stock screen for manually focusing, and how is the dynamic range(in print)? Thanks for the great review.

    • Barry,
      As far as your requirements are concerned (rural scenes etc) the 6D is an excellent choice. It is not ideal for sports photography, given the limitations of the AF system. I have tried a manual focus Zeiss f2 lens belonging to a colleague, and whilst the results were acceptable, I think the best results are from Canon lenses. I recently purchased a Canon 40mm/f2.8 ‘pancake’ lens to use with the 6D for street photography and have been very impressed with the results – IQ better than on the borrowed Zeiss f2!

      • I don’t buy that for a second. Probably a defective lens or adapter.
        Which zeiss were you using? (so that I can steer away from that particular lens) Zeiss lenses are always sharper and have superior IQ to any canon L lens (even though they are often half the size…which is kind of silly..). This is a fact! Do you check your images at 100% magnification? Come on, that just sounds plain crazy. Zeiss lenses produce magical micro contrast and sharpness and produce better IQ and color reproduction, they are really that good.. I just wish they had AF for practical reasons….

        • Well, one can only speak as one finds. I took 200+ shots using the Zeiss, mainly portraits. Overall the results were good, but not as good as a prime L lens. I think part of the reason for this may be the interaction between Canon Lenses and the current OS in the 6d. Providing the Canon lens is recognised by the camera ( only some are already loaded, but others can be uploaded easily), adjustments are made in camera, resulting in significantly improved results.

          • What about Tamron ans sigma lenses ? It should be awfull ? Like the tmron 24 70 2.8 VC USD isn’t good on 6d?

  11. Hi Graham, I was very interested to read your review, I’d like to ask your opinion if I may?

    I’ve got a 6D on order and will be using it primarily for shooting behind the scenes stils for TV commercials. The sets are usually well lit but there will be situations where the light will be low and I won’t have the option to add any lighting beyond what’s being used for primary filming. So one of the big things that appealed to me about the 6D was it’s low light abilities.

    I’m currently torn between pairing it with either the Canon f2.8 or f4 70-200mm L IS lenses.

    I’m aware of the cost and weight differences between the two lenses but wondered whether the difference in one stop of light between the two is outweighed by the extra low light capabilities of the 6D? Given my situation and if money and weight weren’t an issue, which would you recommend?

    Thanks..

    Olly

  12. As a professional landscape photographer, how do you find the image quality of the 6D & 17-40l lens combo?

  13. franky2step beat me to it. I shoot birds (staying with APS-C 60D for that), landscape, and macro. I am considering adding a full frame camera , and my Canon 15-85mm and Sigma 8-16mm lenses are APS-C only and I will need equivalents for FF. The landscape telephoto end is taken care of by the 70-200mm f/4 L IS, and I have Sigma 35mm f/1.4 and Samyang 14mm f/2.8, which will cover wide-field astrophotography and a fair amount of landscape territory. I would like an ultra-wide to wide angle zoom for hiking and general use, and the relatively small and light Canon 17-40mm f/4L is a strong contender (others include Tokina 16-28mm f/2.8, Sigma 12-24mm, and the heavy and expensive Canon 16-35mm f/2.8 L). You have some striking images with the 17-40L. Is its image quality excellent for full frame as long as you stick to f8 or so?

  14. Thanks for this review Graham – massively helpful. I think for me the weight is a massive bonus as I’m quite a small girl and find carrying all the kit quite cumbersome!

  15. Pingback: Canon 6D 1080p Video Test

  16. Thanks for straight forward and clear review. You have clarified the issue of AF points for me well and I agree that many more points is not necessarily better but the low light AF of the central point is very useful. I shoot a lot of classical ballet. Very tricky. The subjects are always moving, the lighting often low and extremely contrasty, (HMI spotlight on dancer in white tutu against black backdrop) and changes constantly both in colour and intensity, and you need higher iso just to get shutter speed into the reasonable range for moving subject even with f2.8 70-200 L IS USM. I have a 50d that has served me well but want the FF and low noise that the 6d offers. On the 50D (and anything else I’ve tried at the ballet) I’ve given up on auto exposures and go manual using the spot meter and just checking the reading in the bottom of frame and flicking the front dial with my finger as I go. Can get a blister after 3 acts and 8-900 shots but it is way more accurate than ANY auto metering system I’ve tried including a mighty 1D lll I borrowed. Similar with AF. I end up using 1shot setting on the centre sensor only. You have to be a bit dexterous but it works better than leaving it to its own devices on any setting, 1shot, AI or servo. Just too many shots where it misses or latches onto something else like the scenery or the backdrop between the dancers.So the 6Ds seems like a gift for what I do. Sometimes less is more.
    Cheers
    Matt

  17. Thanks for the information, Graham. I, too, have been waffling between upgrading to a Nikon D600 from my Nikon D7000. But after reading about Nikon’s dust problems I am leaning toward returning to Canon with the 6D. There has been much made of the 6D lack of features for the money and the lack of a built-in flash to trigger remote flashes (this mainly from Pop Photo). Any thoughts about all this?

    • After reading the comments here I have decided to stay with velvia. If a giant movie screen uses film half the size of 35mm still camera film, then 35mm velvia is sharp enought for me. I’ll just run my contax NX with 70-200 zeiss, and a nikon N80 with 20 and 40 voigts. Lotsa filters, 81A and C, purple, and NDs. I also read much, and am influenced from much hated, very knowledgeable Ken Rockwell, The little I shoot after 60 years of photography doesnt warrant digits (Mum’s Brownie, dads Rollei, bros Retina 2C, then my own series).

    • I was a bit concerned about the lack of a built-in flash before purchasing my 6D. However two things have alleviated these concerns – firstly the incredible low light performance of the 6D, and secondly the power and portability of the 270EXll Speedlite, which I carry in my pocket.
      Overall I endorse the initial review of the 6D here, and still believe I made the right purchasing decision.

  18. A well balanced and understated review, thank you.

    I too bought one of the first 6Ds off the boat. Mine was delivered on the 6th December 2012.

    As well as the 6D, I also own a 40D and a 5D Mki. Both of the older cameras are a joy to use and I really only wanted the 6D for the high ISO and the wi-fi options.

    Sadly, I was slightly disappointed with the wi-fi as it doesn’t perform in the same way as a WFT-E1 transmitter on the 5D. The WFT automatically transmits files allowing you to continue shooting without interruption. However, the transmitter on the 6D requires manual control from the receiving computer and when it is transmitting, the camera is disabled during the transmission process. This has caused irritation and embarrassment at events. Happily though, this is almost the only gripe I have with the 6D. The other is the autofocussing for sport. Having used a 7D, I find the focussing on the 7D more suited to sport. That said, I can cope with the 6D for most situations.

    Since buying the 6D, I have been continually amazed by the consistency in processing speed and image quality at all levels. Quite simply, it is stunning. I now find it difficult to pick up the 40D or the 5D, the 6D just keeps landing in my hand!

    A great feature is being able to upload sample images to the net especially social media when I’m covering events. That way I am always ahead of the competition in putting images in people’s hands before anyone else. Images straight out the can and on Facebook or Twitter in seconds via my Iphone. Priceless.

    Having said all that, I am now selling my trusty 40D and 5D Mki kit to put towards a 5D Mkiii as it will compliment the 6D beautifully.

    All-in-all, I would heartily recommend the 6D to anyone looking for outstanding full-frame high ISO performance for almost any scenario be-it landscape, weddings, sports or studio. Simply brilliant.

    Don’t take my word for it take a look the images on my website. You will notice the differences from images taken before December 2012 and recently, (however, some images are still from the utterly dependable 5D Mki).

    • Hey guys, I’ve had my 6D for nearly 12 months. In fact I ordered it exactly a year ago today! With regard to my earlier comment about the wifi needing activation from the computer and that auto transfer wasn’t available; I was properly wrong!!! It just goes to show that you should experiment with the software as I just have and discovered the automatic transfer option, whoopee!

      • Hey Glenn,

        Nice! How has the last year been, overall? I was a bit confused with the WiFi feature as well. On my Retina MacBook Pro I have an SD card slot, so for me it’s not very practical. : (

        Since you’ve been using it for the last year if you have any feedback for the review please let me know! I’d love to hear from you.

        Graham

  19. Your review helped me to go for the Canon 6D. I shoot for the local paper for the events page, so I shoot everything that happen here in this small city. I started with Nikon D7000, then 5D Mark ii and now the 6D, my lens are 24-105mm 4L, 80-200 2.8L and a 50mm 1.8. from proms, graduations, weddings, concerts, parties, to jockey, futbol, tenis, golf… to press conferences,.everything else….etc, I don’t find anything that I miss from D7000, or 5D mark ii maybe the duo card? no, the 1/8000? no, 1/250 flash sync? no. I am not saying that this camera is for everybody. we have say that i am experimenting the latest technology on this camera, yes, I shoot and my imagen goes directly to my ipad or laptop in my messenger bag getting my pictures online faster than the other guys,and GPS showing almost the original place where the picture was taken,…. the local paper is super happy for that, lightweight, best center point focus that ever use, it can focus in pitch darkness without the flash assistent that bother people with that red light on their faces. super silent shooter, I enjoy taking pictures during symphony concerts now i am not afraid that i will interrupt the piano passages of a violin concerto. the ISO is fenomenal better that the Mark iii. I also love that it remembers the last focus point that I use vertically or horizontally. I can shoot this camera with one hand pretty much all the functions are in your right hand. and this without talking about the video features. great for interviews and latest news reporters. I can change aperture without getting out of live view, and it has good waterproof but not to take a shower with it…. so far this camera has served me well hope to see more technology in cameras in the future. What is coming up from future cameras? ….we will see. =) Thank you for your review!!

    • Hi Carlos,

      What preset did you use to upload your photos ? Standard canon preset, neutral or other custom ?

      Thanks for your review graham

      • hi KIKIs, I always shoot on RAW & JPG both at the same time. and my present I like (Faithful), I think is better than neutral. it give me a little more sharpness and the skin tones are more natural,

    • Hello Carlos, does the autofocus works fine with the 80-200 2.8L on the Canon 6d? I been told that it does not work on newer models.

      • Hello Nata, The autofocus is snappy and fast it is amazing. The 80-200mm is one of my favorite lens. it is good that not too many people knows about it so you can get it in a very good price, compare with the newer version I like this one better. the colors are natural and a plus for me is that the lens is black so it does not call a lot of attention while i’m taking pictures. I use it for assignments shooting Hockey and Portrait. some examples here for fun, thanks http://www.flickr.com/photos/93625007@N02/sets/72157633515147152/

  20. Sorry for ‘noob’ intrusion.
    I’m mostly a Sony user, but one who has fallen in trance with timelapse photography and desiring to pursue the ‘holy-grail’…thus I need to add a Canon to the stable. As a ‘noob’ am I right in thinking that the incredible low-light performance of the 6d can only help me in astrophotography/timelapse and the transitioning between dark and light? I also love lanscapre photography and have no need or desire for sports capture. I do love wildlife and consider the Sony a77+Sal70400g already in the stable adequate for that. Thoughts please and thank you.
    Robert

  21. Nice review Graham. I am glad your view on the camera is based on application rather than pure comparison of specs.

    I have the 6D now for 3 weeks and love it. I would prefer if the max shutter speed was 1/8000 and flash sync at 1/250…. Nevertheless these two issues did not prevent me from taking some great shots.

    I would like to ask you about any experiences with the Zeiss 50mm as you have pictured. Did you find focusing difficult? Do you use the standard screen? I was told the 6D does not have a split focus screen option. I am keen on getting the Zeiss 50 2.0 and any advise you can provide is highly appreciated. I currently used the Canon 50mm 1.4, the only lens I have for the 6D, actually the only lens I need for my shooting style.

    Thank you.

  22. Hello Graham,

    Just bought the D6. Looking to take headshots of my girlfriend for her acting portfolio thus bought the EF 85mm 1.8 USM lens. As a non-professional, would appreciate any and all the advice you can sketch for taking indoor shots in a penthouse studio with plenty of light. Thanks very much :)

  23. Thanks Graham.

    Im looking to use the 6D primarily for landscape so it sounds like the right option. However my secondary type of photography is shooting waves from inside the tube (Clark Little is my hero). If I use one of the Canon fisheye lenses (ie 8-15mm or 15mm) on manual focus under the lip of the wave will the focus problems everyone’s talking about become irrelevant because of the nature of fisheyes? It an expensive proposition to buy the underwater housing if its the wrong camera.
    Note: The Frame rate isnt an issue for me.

    Thanks in advance
    Philip

      • Hi Graham
        Thanks for responding. Much appreciated!
        When you say, “For sports, action … photographers who rely on autofocus, the 11-point may not cut it.”
        So there are two kinds of pictures i expect to be taking
        1. Primarily fisheye in manual focus (I think MF is whats recommended for fisheye)
        2. Secondly surfing shots from in the water where i want to focus on a surfer coming toward me with say Canon 16-35mm lens.
        Therefore does the comment you made above impact what Im wanting to use the camera for in the water
        Thanks
        Philip

        • Ahh yes, sorry for the confusion! I was referring to the quantity of AF points, as sports/action shooters often rely on AF, so the thinking is more AF points the better.

          For manual focus the AF points won’t come into play! I think for your use case it would suffice.

          Graham

          • Thanks Graham.

            Also, in your opinion, if Im in the water trying to capture a surfer on a wave using a non fisheye lens (and therefore having to use autofocus) – would this be difficult for the 6D to focus on the surfer. He and the wave will both be moving objects.
            Thanks so much again for your help
            Philip

  24. Graham,

    I have just ordered my 6d! Can’t wait to start shooting. One question for you. I will be doing some video for our local high school marching band in both daylight and night time. I have a 17-40 f4L and will be getting the 24-105 f4L with the camera. It has been hard getting any good photo’s at night with my XSi and that is one of the reasons for the upgrade to 6d. Any ideas on how I can capture the best video of the band? I have read that adding ML (magic lantern) can boost the video performance of the 6d. Your thoughts please? And thanks for the great review.

    Randy

    • Hey Randy,

      Awesome! I’d recommend shooting 24fps on low compression and go from there! Aside from that make sure it’s stable as handheld with those lenses camera shake can become a problem.

      Graham

  25. Hi Graham, thank you for your excellent review of the 6D. I am vacillating between the 5D mark 3 and the 6D. My photography includes but is not limited to my son’s college soccer games, road cycling events for my other son & husband, landscapes and, my passion macro photography. I’m all but sold on the 6D save for your comments about sports and the limited AF capabilities of the 6D. Given the activities I shoot, which camera would you recommend? BTW: I’m still using my Canon 40D but have noticed that action shots (soccer) that seem to be increasingly out of focus when using AF. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

    • Hey Kyle,

      Absolutely! I’m glad that you found the review helpful.

      For shooting sports I was thinking specifically of the frames per second, with the 6D coming in at 4.5fps and the 5DMkIII at 6.0, so not much difference when compared to a 1DX at 18. So for the purposes of fast frame rates I’d say they’re equal.

      With regards to AF, I’ve found the 6D to obtain AF lock in lower light than the 5DMkIII, and Canon has officially advertised this advantage.

      I’d say they’re nearly identical in both regards, but for landscape photographers using 3, 6, 10-stop or higher ND filters, the 6D has the advantage for autofocus, from my experience.

      Graham

      • Thank you for your timely response Graham. I have much to consider in the weeks ahead. I had the opportunity to view your landscape photography in the gallery on your website ~ in a word: breathtaking!

        • Also, I’m just now finishing Version 2 of the review, after having 6 additional months and 20 national parks later. Stay tuned for that as it has additional thoughts, images and numbers on the 6D.

          Graham

  26. Hi Graham,
    Thanks for the great review which is the only review yet which actually convinced me the 6d might actually fit my needs while saving me money. Quick question, which I’m sure you have heard already in many different forms-the auto focus. For weddings and casual sport using the centre point only, can you confirm the 6d it’s great enough for such purposes?
    Thanks

    • Hey Jay,

      Awesome! I’m glad you found it useful. Yes, I would imagine that the 6D’s center point would actually have a slight advantage only due to the better lowlight AF lock performance.

      Graham

    • Hey Liza,

      Awesome! Did you get the kit lens with it? I recently quit my tech job in San Francisco to build an online photography training library, so stay tuned! : )

      Graham

  27. 1. Thanks so much for the effort put into the review. 2. The video was great, the constant drum soundtrack was very distracting and didn’t add anything to the review. 3. But thanks again for all the awesome work!

  28. An informative and very useful review. I have owned and used my 6D for almost a year, and concur with your observations and conclusions. Although I look after my photography kit,I was rather concerned at the vulnerability of the rear screen , and purchased a GGS fine optical glass protector – which is virtually invisible, and has performed well – but an unexpected bonus was the ease with which grease and finger marks can be wiped off. The kit includes a protector for the top screen, which whilst not as vulnerable as the rear LCD screen benefits from this added invisible protection. I use the 24-105L and 70-300L with the 6D, and have found these to be a good match, but continue to be impressed with the performance of the 40mm 2.8 ‘pancake’ for street photography. My next purchase will be an Ultra Wide Angle, and I am torn between the 17-40L and 16-35L, but have also been considering the Sigma 12-24 which gets good reviews. However I have been reliably informed that a new 14-24L 2.8 is in the pipeline, and if Canon release it soon (at an affordable price) that will become my preferred choice. I was tempted away from the Sigma because the lens data stored on the 6D is restricted to Canon lenses – I assume that if the 14-24L is launched this year, it will be possible to download correction data for it soon after launch. For landscape work it should be the best match for the 6D, but I would be pleased to hear your views (and of course other contributors to your blog). One certainty is that you will be able to purchase the 14-24L in the US long before we will see it here in UK shores!

  29. It’s clear that everyone has different uses for every feature. When I bought my Canon 6D I really thought I was not going to use the Wifi feature. But now I use it a lot, mostly when I take a photo of my family or my friends. As people have got used to get their photo instantly on their WhatsApp, they want the same when I shoot with my 6D. And thanks to the Wifi feature I can send them almost immediately after taking them, which is great!

  30. Great review. We own two 6Ds and love the camera. Once thing I’ll add is that we use the WiFi functionality much more than we thought we would. My wife normally shoots at photo shoots and I can remotely view her photos realtime to help move strobes, etc. As you said, it also works great for remote shooting, especially when the camera is on the tripod (i.e. night shoots). The GPS is awesome but as you said it would be nice if it did not plug when the camera is idle.

    • Hey Joe,

      Awesome! It’s great to hear you find the wifi useful. I hope Canon can add intervalometer functionality into the Canon 6D’s wifi! : )

      Graham

  31. Are u sure the 5Diii and 6D has the same sensor? After that statement, I can’t continue to digest the rest of what you have to say. They are both great cameras and it’s about what you can afford. Howeve, being the owner of both, 5Diii is the better camera. Sounds like you want more sales for the 6D. But that does not make sense considering that they are both Canon’s products even if you are paid to write this review. You are not paid right?? PS: how do you focus when your viewfinder is “black”???

    • Get paid by Canon, and want to sell more 6Ds from this review… ?

      - I have an affiliate link at the bottom, and I donate 100% of the commissions to the world wildlife fund (I specifically state this)
      - I own the 5D3 and the 6D, personally I disagree about either one being better
      - Canon paying people to write reviews?
      - A 6-stop ND is near black in the viewfinder, not completely black. Autofocus with -3EV is an advantage here. To answer your last question, that’s how I obtain an accurate focus lock – AF

      Thanks for your questions. Please try to be less trolling and ignorant when posting here again. I write this content to provide value to other photographers from my perspective, not to be trolled against. These are all just opinions, not facts.

      Graham

  32. Just wanted to say great photos and great review. I am also enjoying my 6d.

  33. Plan to move from a Canon 5D to either a 6D or 5D Mark iii. I’d really like the 6D but for 2 problems: moire and aliasing. I could endure the shortcomings of the 6D you mentioned but not the moire and aliasing. I learned there is an after market fix which includes a camera insert that is supposed to correct the problem. I would appreciate your thoughts on the foregoing.

  34. Great, simple and to the point review. Thank you. I have been getting gorgeous images with my 6D for over a year now and really love the camera. I use WiFi often for grabbing a few quick-pix with my iPhone and sharing with family/friends. I also use the WiFi for focusing and controlling my camera connected to my telescope for astro photography. The WiFi connection process could be a little more straight forward, but its not awful.

    I totally agree with your comment on the GPS not going to sleep with the camera. The GPS uses about 1/4 battery per day. So if you are on a heavy shoot and burning a battery a day (or faster) then the GPS drain is no big deal. You change batteries at 500 shots rather than 600. But, if you put the camera in your case on Sunday night. When you take it out on Thursday the battery is dead. And what a pill to have to go into the menus and turn off the GPS before you sleep the camera. MAJOR design flaw. What ends up happing with me is either I forget to turn the GPS back on (and I shoot a day without it) or my battery is dead when I pull the camera for a quick shot. Neither is a good solution and they are the most common scenarios.

    Jim in Boulder

    • Hey Jim,

      Thank you! I’m glad you found it useful and informative.

      I like the 1/4 per day assessment of the battery life on GPS when not used. I found that to be true myself, and it’s much easier to break it down this way! : )

      Hopefully Canon can update the firmware on the 6D to change the GPS behavior going forward.

      Thanks again!

      Graham

  35. Just watched your 12 month review, very good. Ive had the camera fours months taken a couple of thousand shots mainly landscape with & without filters. Been very impressed with low light performance like you I only do minimal corrections in Lightroom or even iPhoto and found color reproduction to be V.good. The auto-focus has not been an issue because for sport & wildlife I still use my Canon 7d as its much more suited to that task. The only thing I disagree with is the remote app. Ive used it alot and found it to be great especially if Im travelling light, yes an intervalometer would be good but its not a deal breaker.
    Dust is an issue but then dust is an issue with all sensors full stop as it was with film before it. Good luck and keep up the good work.

    Jeff

  36. What if I want all the features of the 6D but without the wifi and gps? What camera would you recommend?

  37. Hi Graham, great review, a lot of thanks. And have you ever had the opportunity to compare Canon EOS 6D with Nikon D610? What do you think about the Nikon D610 compared to the EOS 6D?

  38. For video the best bet would be to go with the new Canon 70D which had the dial pixel auto focus. It’s not full frame but if you don’t want the expense of getting the other best video camera (5Dmk3) then the 70d is a better option for vids.
    Try to remember Canon’s numbering strategy of their camera for the different styles of photography/photographers:

    1 series camera for pro level action/sports
    5 series camera for pro level for weddings/portraits
    6 series camera for mid level prosumer General photography
    7 series for pro or prosumer level wildlife and sports.
    Rebel T series cameras for entry level all around camera

  39. Just crossed your great site. This is a very informative review about the Canon 6D. I made some images from the Chihuly Exhibition
    at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts last summer. With no tripod allowed in dark environments, the handheld made images
    are great from this camera.

  40. Great Review. I have Canon 6D with 24-105 L Lens. Would you recommend 50mm 1.8 lens for portraits, or my 24-105mm L lens would do the job ? Thanks!

    • Thanks so much! I’m glad that you found it useful.

      I think the 24-105 is a great lens for portraits, but I would highly recommend the 50 1.8 to any kind of photographer. It’s not only a very sharp lens, but it’s incredibly light and a ton of fun to use, plus it doesn’t cost much! : )

      Graham

  41. Graham, the review is utterly, utterly brilliant – thank you! I’m a longtime Nikon user (D80 and D200) who’s about to go full frame, and after tinkering with a friends 6D for a few weeks I was having serious thoughts about going from Nikon to Canon as the 6D is a cracking bit of hardware (so is the D610, my other choice), and I have to admit that your review has pretty much pushed me off the fence and into Canon’s yard (i was pretty much already there)! Cheers :)

  42. Don’t know about the iOS app, but the Android app is awesome for remote shooting. It lets you control all of the camera settings (aperture, speed, iso, focus points etc) and I use it always when I’m shooting from a tripod =)

  43. Hi, Graham, awesome review!!! I really wanna buy 6d since I can’t afford 5d3, but there is a problem still bothering me.
    Because you shoot landscape a lot, your aperture is around 20 which provide wide depth of field, and you always use tripod, thus, your image is very sharp.
    Could you tell me how auto focus performs when dealing with larger aperture close up shot with shallow depth of field? Since 6d only have 11 focus points, it may not be enough to cover the specific focus area I want.
    Example: 24mm f1.4, have to use center point to focus the desire area—eye of a model, then panning the camera to compose, how to avoid blur image with only 1.4 depth of field after panning? I have a T1i, not happy with the clarity of image when shooting portraits, especially when using larger aperture, lack of focus points and accuracy .
    Do you think 70d is better option? any suggestions?

    • +1 to using Magic Lantern’s intervalometer function, over 6 months, frequent use=no problems.
      You’ll also love the zebras during live view.

  44. Hi Graham-Nice job! Well done. I was researching a rumor that the 6D performs better than the 5D Mark 3 in low light. You seem to be saying that they perform equally well. I have the 5D Mark 3 now and have been thinking of getting a backup body, and if the 6D is that good in low light, that would be a bonus. Any thoughts? PS-Great looking images.

    • Hey Bill,

      Thanks! I’m glad you found it useful.

      Both the 5D3 and the 6D use the same image processor, so I’d say with regards to high ISO noise performance they’re nearly identical.

      As for autofocus in lowlight, the 6D is rated for -3EV and the 5D3 is -2EV. The difference is pretty much theoretical and practically speaking they’re equal.

      Graham

  45. The Wifi capabilities seem to be getting a little flack. Can you clarify, is wireless tethering to a Ipad functional and practical for Portrait shooting, would I be able to review images instantly and easily during a shoot.
    Also is the quality of non Canon lenses degraded due to not being able to load lens profiles to Digic 5+, ( I have a lot of sigma)

    • Hey Jim!

      As a shutter release it’s perfectly functional, but the lack of an intervalometer does it for me.

      I think for most it’s sufficient as a simple remote!

      Graham

    • Jim

      While lack of intervalometer control disappoints an astro photographer like myself, the iPad wifi control would be great for your portraiture application. You will be able to immediately review shots on a nice big monitor rather than on the little guy on the back of the camera. While you can trigger the shot too, the shutter button on-camera is more appropriate to “catch the moment”.

      Jim in Boulder

  46. Graham,
    the 11 points with one cross concerns me. I currently use a 7d. this is great for soccer but when I switch to my daughter’s dance team the 7d is disappointing. All the reviews so far says the 6d isn’t quite up to snuff speed wise compared to others but I need to know if it’s good enough to track relatively fast movements ( a bunch of 11 year olds dancing in the dark setting of a stage.) Based on what you said my assumption now is that neither the 5K III (despite the 39 points) nor this would be any different in this arena? Any how, I need help before I pull the trigger on the 6d. BTW great pics.

    regards,
    John

    • Hey John,

      It depends on how dark we’re talking about, but the AF system on the 5D3 is faster for locking on movement due to more autofocus points. Quite a few pros shoot with the 5D2 in these scenarios, as it’s an incredible camera. The 6D is better with regards to AF than the 5D2.

      The marketing of the big camera companies would have you think there’s a massive gulf of difference here, but there’s really not.

      Graham

  47. Thank you for your 6D review. I own one and have for over a year.

    imo,

    The WiFi app can be useful for candid photography or when setting up a shot.

    Hold the iPad as though I am reading a book and place the camera on a table in a coffee shop, market, etc.
    People think the camera is inactive as I am not holding it, but the iPad shows what it is seeing and can be used
    to focus and trigger a shot. Note: one has to be careful to make sure the lens focus ring is not sitting directly on the table
    surface as that might obstruct focusing. Since it is limited by the speed of WiFi the screen does not refresh at a natural rate but it is useable.

    I also use WiFi to set up shots at home when the viewfinder or on camera LCD just isn’t big enough. Yes,
    the EOS app on a computer can do this better but it requires a cable and the computer to be nearby. Again,
    the limits of WiFi mean there is some lag in the image.

    Ed in Sacramento

  48. Thanks for the review. I just got a 6d. I didn’t see any exif info for amateurs like me to see what you used. I noticed some of the picture names were … 17-40 and 40 2.8 so I figured you used those, but any other lens used for the test shots?

    Siggy

  49. Graham, you are the star of camera reviews. How would the 6D be for astrophotography applications? Thank you, John

    • Hi John,
      I have been using the 6D quite a bit for astrophotigraphy. I think it’s a great camera for heavenly photos. :-). The high ISO with low noise is perfect, the ability to do auto-dark subtraction can be useful. And the wifi control is great!

      Here are pix I’ve taken in the last 9 months with the 6D and my Celestron CPC-1100 11″ scope: https://www.icloud.com/photostream/#A35nhQSTnmQpB

      Jim in Boulder

      • Jim,

        Thanks for relating your experience with the 6D in astrophotography. The pictures you included are great examples of what I want to achieve. John

      • Thanks Jim in Boulder. Impressive night sky pictures. I have done some searching (including asking Graham) about whether the 6D is better at low light photography than the 5D Mark 3. There are two schools of thought: One is that they are about the same, since they share the same processor. The other is that the 6D is better in tests with long exposures with the body cap on. Even there the difference was subtle. The 6D has a lower pixel count which could account for less noise than the 5D. I’m requesting a loan from Canon of the 6D and will do some night tests next month.

        • Most of the astro images that I linked to were taken with 30 second frames. Usually 20-25 images at 30s each, ISO 3200, averaged together. I use a device called a Hyperstar which places my camera directly in front of the main mirror at f/2. When pointed high in the sky, I can’t see the back of the camera, so the WiFi is essential for focusing. Also, with the WiFi for control, there are no wires crossing in front of the mirror which eliminates sometimes annoying spikes on stars. I have been enjoying my 6D for astro-imaging immensely.

          Jim in Boulder

  50. Jim in Boulder…. I wonder if there is a Hyperstar for my Celestron 8″ Edge HD ?? I’ve only dabbled in astro a bit; mostly because of age and moving the Advanced VX around (sure glad I did not get a CGEM). The WiFi here can only be a huge bonus of the 6D because of all the contorted positions one has to place head/neck around the scope.

    • Hey Robert,

      Starizona does indeed offer a Hyperstar for the 8″ Edge.. and conversely all Edges are built with the removable secondary to allow interchange. Although, you do want to keep in mind the amount of the mirror that is obstructed by a DSLR such as the 6D. In the case of my 11″ CPC1100, the secondary always obstructs about 12% of the main mirror, the 6D/Hyperstar obstructs 25%. In the case of the 8″ Edge, the secondary also obstructs about 12%, but the 6D would obstruct 50% of your mirror. So, at one level, a cylindrical CCD camera built for astro photography has an advantage in that they can be the same size as the Hyperstar/Secondary and stick to about 12% obstruction. That being said, you give up 1/2 the light, but get a 25x faster system at f/2 (rather than f/10 with the 6D mounted in the eyepiece position)… so the net net, while not optimum, is still darn fun!!!!

      Jim in Boulder

  51. Jim, thanks. Honestly it looks like the 6D is too big or my 8″ Edge is too small! I think I’ll wait until I can just get a decent ccd for that application. I do appreciate your input very much. For those considering the 6D for non-telescope astro applications here is a 6D star trail from this weekends backpacking trip:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/medicineman4040/12721948755/
    Also via the images captured from the 6D at the end part of this vid is the star trail formation:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/medicineman4040/12727822063/
    (warning: the first part of the vid, a Moonscape/Venus rising timelapse was done with a Canon G1X)
    Back to the 6D. Next astro experiment I plan on with it is using it with a SkyTracker for near field Milky Way capture, when the Milky Way returns (core) to my area.
    Hopefully it’s obvious I’m a big 6D fan. I also use a 5DIII (mostlly for things that are moving quickly,e.g. BIFs) but IMHO the 6D beats the 5DIII on high ISO performance. YMMV of course :)

    • Robert,

      You can definitely get some great “astro-scapes” with your 6D and SkyTracker! While the 6D is a bit large for the Hyperstar configuration, I wouldn’t hesitate using it at prime focus f/10 or using the f/6.3 Focal Reducer on your 8″Edge. Much less preparation, easier to focus, and you can still get some fun shots. Plug it in at f/10, aim at The Orion Nebula, and knock off a single exposure of 30 secs at ISO 3200. You’ll be hooked!!

      Jim in Boulder

      • Hi Jim,

        Thanks for your useful information regarding your experiences with the Canon 6D. I have a CPC1100 and am considering the 6D for it, but I’m concerned about the full frame sensor and the compatibility with my setup. I have a JMI 2″ fine focuser attached to the visual back, and a short 2″ barrel that accepts the T-ring for my current Nikon. In this configuration should I expect vignetting?

        You images are wonderful. Did you get your 6D modified to remove the IR filter? I’m also considering the 60Da.

        Thanks,
        Mark

  52. I thought almost all of the 6D video was spot on. However the wireless is not “useless”. While it is probably not useful for landscape I use it in a studio setting along with an iPad. While I agree that the programing is underwhelming and there are things missing that should be there, you can preview the picture on a large screen and check exposure, lighting and composition. You see things that you would miss in live view on the camera LCD. It is much easier to connect to the iPad or android tablet than to a computer and much more portable. I wasn’t sure how useful this feature would be until I actually started using it.

    • I agree completely. I use the WiFi and iPad combination to check exposures when the 6D is on a tripod, and it is especially useful when the camera is concealed to capture pictures of birds and wildlife. What lets it down is the primitive nature of the App and underpinning software – Canon should have outsourced the development to a recognised App developer. Overhere (I am based in the UK) there are many specialist developers that could have done a far better job! Hopefully the App will be upgraded in due course.

  53. Loved the report. Loved the pics as well. Long time since I’ve been in the U.S. but your images make me want to return.

    A question on the “ruggedness” of the 6D. I’d describe myself loosely as a mountaineer. So most, if not all, of my stuff is outdoors in all weathers. Rain, hail, snow, spindrift etc. While I hear what you say about the seawater episode I’d really like to know your views on taking this camera out in all weathers. I’ve thought on the 7D but some of the outdoor guys don’t reckon that the images are quite so good without a lot of processing. A lot use the 5D Mk3 but from my point of view it’s too heavy & too expensive.

    • One point to consider is that the 6D is more compact than the 5D or 7D, and when working in a rugged or hostile environment this can make a considerable difference to secure handling. I previously owned a 7D, and have used a 5D lll extensively,but I prefer the 6D in most outdoor environments, and feel more confident holding it, especially with a fairly light/ compact lens.

  54. Thanks Neil but it’s not so much the handling but the actual weatherproofing that bothers me. From my limited researches the 5D & the 7D seem to be pretty good in the weatherproofing stakes but the 6D seems to lag a bit behind in this regard. Perhaps Graham might have a few opinions on that.

  55. I recently purchased a 6D (2 Days ago), and i wanted to hear your thoughts on a good Fisheye? also the; Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 APO EX DG HSM OS FLD —–VS—– the Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM. which telephoto would be a better use for out door sports? Thanks.

    • Funny you should ask. I have been testing my new 6D with the Canon 8-15mm fisheye for the last hour. I have a car shoot coming up where we need to shoot spherical stitched images inside the cars. My tests are to find the “nodal point” of the lens and to see how PTGui does with the fisheye images. So far, so good. The stitching software, PT Gui, loves the full fisheye original images. The pano rig loves the lighter 6D (it leans less). The finished documents look clean and sharp. The individual shots look good right out to the edges, but I was shooting at f16. You may lose a little edge sharpness if you shoot wide open. I think the Canon Fisheye is a lot of lens for the money.

  56. First off, great review and gorgeous photography.

    I bought an 8 year old Canon EOS 5D body about 6 months ago, just to see if all the fuzz about full frame sensors where justified, and I really love this format now along with the original 5D. One little thing that I have really come to like about the 5D is the joystick for quick AF point selection, do you ever miss that on the 6D?

    Best regards,
    Peter

    • Hey Peter,

      Thanks! I’m glad you found it useful.

      Yes, I think the small joystick on the original 5D is more useful than the small wheel dial. I converted my Original 5D to IR, so I’m still using it a fair bit and love using it, and love printing from it still. Amazing prints, all the way up to 40×60.

      In my opinion it’s the best camera produced to date : )

      Graham

  57. Thx for your excellent work and detailed review. Picked up a Can6D and going to work!

  58. I currently own 5D Mk2 and 7D, however I am looking at upgrading to either a 6D or 5D Mk3. My initial thought was to purchase the new 5D Mk3 and sell both my older bodies. However I have read numerous articles regarding the 6D and am beginning to think that I should keep the 7D and purchase a 6D, which would cover all my photography options this simply upgrading my old MK2. Is the 6D a significant enough upgrade to the 5D MK2? and will I in time regret not getting the 5D MK3. I mainly take portrait and landscape, but occasionally dabble in sports events such as my children’s school rugby/football.

    • I had a 7D, and sold it to fund a 6D, so I have experience of both. For portrait and landscape work, the 6D is superb and the IQ is significantly better than on the 7D. As far as sports events are concerned, I have found the review criticisms of the 6D to be overstated, and the 6D performs well in most ‘sports’ scenes (in my case capturing family images of the children running,swimming etc). I have also used the 6D with a 70-300L at Historic Motor Racing events, and found the AF to be fine – but it is definitely better to select the single centre AF point if tracking cars around the circuit. I have used a 5D ll occasionally, and find that for sports shooting it is broadly similar to the 6D in terms of AF, but the low light capability of the 6D is significantly better. Overall, my view is that the 6D is maligned in many of the reviews, and is a worthwhile upgrade to the 7D.

      • Thank you Neil, I do tend to use the single centre AF point (and recompose) as a rule, so I am leaning towards the 6D. I will probably sell my 7D and my daughter will inherit the 5D MK2 for University work. The IQ as far as I can see is identical between the 6D and 5D MK3 with the 6D perhaps having a slight edge in low light capability, with cost also a huge factor!.. decisions decisions.

        • As you say… decisions, decisions. Here in the UK the 5D lll/ 6D price differential is much greater than in the US, so the decision is easier!

    • Hey Richard,

      I think the Canon 6D is a good option over the 7D, but the difference is small compared to 5D2, indistinguishable with regards to image quality.

      The price of the 6D on B&H has come down recently, check it out.

      Graham

  59. Thank you Graham. I enjoyed reading your excellent comparison of both 6D and 5DMK3 which has made my upgrade decision harder to make. It was nice to read an unbiased view! I am still in a quandary to either keep the 7D and purchase a new 6D giving me the best of both worlds, or simply sell the 7D and purchase the 5D MK3. In both scenarios my daughter get my old MK2 for University work (lucky girl).

  60. Hi Graham,

    Thank you for the detailed review; I’m excited to get my 6D (after shooting 20D & 60D). I noticed on the picture of Grand Teton National Park Sunrise (which by the way is gorgeous) it says you used CPL filter. All I ever read online was putting down the CPL for any sunrise/sunset portrait or it “doesn’t make sense” but you seem to pull this off beautifully. Would you be able to explain the reason for using the CPL for sunrise? I know this question isn’t about 6D but I’ve been looking at getting both graduated ND filter and CPL for my Tamron 17-35.

    Thanks!

    • I’m glad you found it useful!

      If by CPL you mean circular polarizer, this is an essential filter to use for nearly every photograph shot with a clear or partially clear sky.

      A circular polarizer increases native color saturation and decreases glare considerably.

      Graham

  61. Finally(!) a review from a photographer who actually owns / uses and can demonstrate the camera they are reviewing as opposed to the growing menace of camera forum trivia and 1 hour ownership reviews. Having bought myself a 6D six months I found myself nodding a lot with the YouTube video and liked the great accompanying photo’s. I see your photo’s use the extended range ISO 50 which I understood to be more electronic trickery, do you find there is a noticeable difference between ISO 50 and 100?

    • Hi Dick,
      I totally agree with you. I am looking at getting a 6D, however continually read blogs with over critical opinions of the AF system. As a real time user of the 6D what is your opinion of the 11 pt AF, I normally concentrate on portraits and landscape photography but occasionally shoot birds/sports etc?

    • Hey Dick,

      Thanks!

      As you mentioned ISO 50 is pulled from ISO 100, it’s not a native ISO. I use ISO 50 a majority of the time to push the exposure out further, not for increased image quality.

      Graham

  62. Thanks a lot Graham. With your insightful thoughts I was able to decid and went for the 6d instead of the 5d MK3. With the difference I bought some nice pair of L lenses.
    Your insights are totally true and I´m so pleased with this fantastic camera. Light, tough, very responsive. When you get use to the autofocus, everything comes even easier. I came from a 7d, but now is like I used this baby all my life. I only do landscapes and it´s my weapon of choice!
    Take care a keep up with this fantastic job and images!
    Best greetings from Portugal
    Pedro

  63. Thank you somuch… i am a travel and wedding photographer from india, i was in a big confusion, 6d or 5d mark III….? , now i got the solution thank you so much for your deep revew

Comments? Questions? I want to hear from you!